Architectural History

The church is on the site of a former Saxon Church. The present church was dedicated to the Holy Rood, or Cross, in 1080, and has been subject to successive alterations over the centuries.

The tower is pure Norman work, although the top storey was added in the fourteenth century, as was the timber roof. The original windows have been successively replaced between the thirteenth and sixteenth century.

Architectural Features

The church has a handsome Norman doorway with characteristic dog-tooth moulding, which is supported by unusual Norman twisted pillars. An upper priests chamber was added in the fifteenth century. The Nave, tower and half of the present chancel can also be dated to the Norman period. An oak Commonwealth table bears the date 1657. Two Early English transepts were added later, and the south has been recently restored. The chancel boasts a fine groined stone roof, with fine carved bosses. The present font is a modern replacement.

map

Crew and Relevant Links

Contact

Email: nancy.sheridan@heritage4mediacom

Phone: Heritage4Media: 07736 364722

Website: http://www.aveningchurch.info/